Your archived WhatsApp chats will no longer resurrect themselves — unless you let them. The messaging giant is rolling out a settings change that will keep those conversation threads tucked away in the Archived Chats folder by default, even if someone sends a new message. If you wish to make a thread active again, you will need to delete it from the archives.
If you prefer the old behavior, you can restore it through the relevant settings in the Chats tab.
If someone is trying to bring back a conversation you don’t mind revisiting (e.g. classmate chat, party planning session), this could be frustrating. It could be worth it if it stops someone from digging up bad memories, or taking control of archives they’d prefer to keep secret.